The Village of Ubly was first known as Sidon, being north of Tyre as in the Bible. Later it was called Pagetts Corners after Mr. Alfred Pagett who erected a general merchandise store at the west end in April 1870 which was destroyed by the fire of 1881. In 1880 a number of men met to talk over applying for a local post office. Those present wanted to call it Pagettville but Mr. Pagett declined and suggested Ubley, after a little town he knew back in England. When the application came back, whoever had filled in that part in Washington had spelled it Ubly. Today this cozy community is rich in agriculture and industry, and is home to the Thumb area’s largest wind park. Residents and visitors alike enjoy a unique balance of old and new – where history and the future meld – creating a diverse environment.